Anchor

Major Festivals

Major Festivals

The time-honored Lanyang festivals

Go back in time with each of Yilan's vibrant celebrations, experiencing centuries of culture and tradition.

Yilan New Year

Yilan New Year

Month : January to February
Location : Yilan City or Dongshan Township

Every New Year’s Eve, it’s a tradition for the whole family to gather for a sumptuous meal at home, and then sit around the fire chatting, hoping for blessings in the New Year until it arrives.

Want to experience a different New Year’s atmosphere? Want to pass New Year’s Eve with friends from all around the country? The Yilan Lunar New Year event welcomes young and old to count down the night together in a festive atmosphere.

Every year Yilan’s Lunar New Year event is a lively experience of music and performances, providing travelers with the familiarity of home. Come celebrate with us!

Lizejian Zao-ang

Lizejian Zao-ang

Month : February
Location : Wujie Township

Lizejian was once an important area for traffic between Su’ao, Yilan and Monga as well as for cargo distribution. One year, an epidemic struck and the residents decided to scale up the local custom of idol carrying, parading temple idols around town, in order to cleanse the area of disease and evil spirits. And so the custom grew into the traditional idol parade of today.

Every Lantern Festival (on the fifteenth day of the first Chinese lunar month) Lizejian Yong’an Temple invites big and small temples in the area to parade their idols around the perimeter. The impressive and lively scene always draws huge crowds of onlookers.

The event’s highlight occurs after the parade. Formerly a sedan chair race down the street between two groups at a time, it now showcases fire walking while carrying idol sedan chairs. Whenever participants pass over the hot embers, the crowd goes wild, a truly exciting atmosphere.

Yilan Green Expo

Yilan Green Expo

Month : March to May
Location : Wulaokeng Scenic Area or Dongshan River Ecoark

Caring for the environment is everyone’s responsibility. We must continually and actively protect the environment, use green energy, and expand environmental education to preserve our beautiful planet.

Yilan is a leader in sustainability, hosting the Green Expo every year to promote eco-friendliness in daily life, public environments, manufacturing, etc. Through gradual progress, a harmonious relationship can be maintained between humanity and nature.

The Yilan Green Expo explains how to implement and live a sustainable lifestyle, which can spread like a ripple effect. We are headed toward a better future on a green ark, and hope you will join the effort.

Erlong River dragon boat races

Erlong River dragon boat races

Month : June
Location : Jiaoxi Township

In early years the Kavalan plains tribe settled in Qiwulan beside the Erlong River, and would hold a rowing competition every year with the Fangetian tribe further upstream. They would use wooden rafts or cargo boats for an entertaining race. Due to the buildup of sediment in the river near Qiwulan, the race had to be moved further downstream, eventually changing into a rivalry between the Qiwulan and Zhouzaiwei villages.

Erlong River has been closely intertwined with local residents’ lives over the past 200 years. When a drowning accident occurs, villagers race their boats to expel evil water spirits. During the Dragon Boat Festival, they fly in exquisite dragon boats towards the finish line. The competitions have no referees or time keepers; winners are decided among the teams and audience after an intense race, one of Taiwan’s most unique folk customs.

International Children's Folklore and Folkgame Festival

International Children's Folklore and Folkgame Festival

Month : July To August
Location : Dongshan River Water Park

In the boiling summer, where can you go for a vacation that isn’t blanketed in heat? Yilan is your place to be!

Playing in water is a blast during the summer, so every year, the Yilan International Children’s Folklore and Folkgame Festival is packed with water slides, pools, fountains, with visitors of all ages joining in the fun.

Great for the whole family, Yilan’s Children’s Festival brings out the playfulness in everyone’s heart.

Su'ao Cold Spring Carniva

Su'ao Cold Spring Carniva

Month : July
Location : Su'ao Township

Su’ao boasts a world-famous sodium and calcium bicarbonate cold spring, wonderful for cooling off in the peak of summer. Gather with the crowd for a huge water fight and parade on the streets at the Su’ao Cold Spring Festival as well.

Featuring a parade full of creativity, wandering flower floats, and street performances among other festivities, the event draws thousands of visitors to Su’ao, some to showcase their water balloon throwing skills!

Yilan Chinese Valentine's Day

Yilan Chinese Valentine's Day

Month : August
Location : Yilan Courtry

The Weaver Girl and the Cowherd are only able to meet on the seventh day of the seventh lunar month each year, on a bridge of magpies. Sprinklings of rain are the two lovers’ tears from being apart. This tragic tale has been passed down through centuries, touching many hearts.

Every year on Chinese Valentine’s Day, Yilan’s Magpie Bridge is decorated with vibrant lights that illuminate the night. Couples stroll across the bridge hand in hand, capturing the moment and making wishes for forever on this symbol of love.

Leave the most romantic moment for the night of lovers, Yilan’s special Valentine’s Day event gives a new style to the celebration, recreating the story’s legendary setting right here in Yilan.

Toucheng Cianggu

Toucheng Cianggu

Month : August to September
Location : Toucheng Township

Long ago when the Han people first came to Yilan, they experienced natural disasters, war, disease, and other trials. Spirits of those who passed away were not able to find rest, so every seventh lunar month, locals would host a Pudu ceremony to repel misfortune, feed ghosts, and compete in the exciting Qianggu (grappling) race before the gates of hell closed.

Once every year, right before midnight, Grappling with the Ghosts at Toucheng begins. Contestants climb up poles covered with oil, working together with their team to ascend the dizzying heights. Together they experience the difficult process of placating wild ghosts.

A mix of religion, history, and culture, Grappling with Ghosts at Toucheng attracts visitors from all over the world to enjoy its thrilling atmosphere and grand celebration.

Forever Young Festival

Forever Young Festival

Month : October
Location : Yilan City or Lotong Township

The Yilan Forever Young Festival is the first event in the country specially created for elders. Packed with activities great for the silver-haired, the festival shows that those young at heart are still lively and energetic.

Wave your hands, move your feet, shake your hips, turn around; an elderly crowd dances to the music, smiles on all faces. Moving and singing along to nostalgic songs from their younger days, happy memories are relived and zest for life proclaimed.

Yilan’s Forever Young Festival opens the door to a lively world for the elderly, and helps build up an elderly-friendly city. Through activities that encourage interaction, looking out for one other, conversation, singing, and dancing, new value is added to each life.

Erjie Wanggong Fire-Crossing Festival

Erjie Wanggong Fire-Crossing Festival

Month : December to January
Location : Wujie Township

Erjie Wanggong Temple is home to the “Three Ancient Kings”. According to legend, towards the end of the Southern Song dynasty, there were three righteous warriors who gave their lives fighting against the Mongols. To honor their loyalty, the villagers built a temple dedicated to them, the “Three Ancient Kings”.

Every fifteenth day of the eleventh lunar month, the largest fire walking ceremony in Taiwan is held at Erjie Wanggong to prevent disasters, get rid of bad luck, and repel misfortune. A century-old custom, there is a local saying that more money is spent on this event than on New Year’s, showing how highly local residents value the ceremony.

Under the direction of elders, up to 12,000 kilograms of charcoal are piled together. Then staff sprinkle rice mixed with salt onto the fiery pile to remove uncleanliness. Amid a cheering crowd of thousands, believers carry idols across the fire in order of rank.

Folk beliefs are an important part of the local culture, bringing peace to believers. In 2007, Erjie Wanggong Fire Walking was chosen by the General Association of Chinese Culture as one of the nation’s ten important folk ceremonies.

Jiaoxi Hotspring Festival

Jiaoxi Hotspring Festival

Month : December
Location : Jiaoxi Township

Tired of noisy traffic and mundane problems at work? Need a vacation that relaxes your heart, soul, and body? The annual Yilan Jiaoxi Hot Spring Season is just what you’re looking for! Bask in a healthful and leisurely atmosphere while bands, dance groups, and street artists put on exciting performances. Eat, drink, sightsee, play, and be merry - all in Jiaoxi.

Incorporating music and dance into the activities, Jiaoxi’s festive atmosphere is widely known, and interests visitors in getting to know Jiaoxi, Yilan, and the whimsical home of hot springs.

Top

跳到主要內容區塊 定位點
定位點

重要節慶

Major Festivals

重要節慶

蘭陽慶典,歷史悠久

宜蘭精彩萬分的活動過程,讓你彷彿走入時光隧道中,體驗輾轉千年百年的文化傳統。宜蘭的特色,吃、喝、玩、樂樣樣有,你還在等什麼?快快行動吧!

歡樂宜蘭年(除夕)

歡樂宜蘭年(除夕)

月份 : 1~2月
地點 : 宜蘭市或冬山鄉

傳統習俗中,在除夕夜晚,大人小孩一同回到家中,吃著精心準備的團圓飯,圍著火爐閒話家常,通宵守夜,祈求嶄新的一年,平安順遂。

想體驗不一樣年節氣氛嗎?想與全臺的朋友一同守歲,過除夕夜晚嗎?歡慶宜蘭年活動,在每年的除夕夜展開,邀請大朋友小朋友團聚一塊,歡慶倒數,有著濃濃的年節氣氛。

聽音樂、看表演,除夕守歲夜晚,邀請民眾到宜蘭慶新年,每年活動精彩萬分,讓來訪的遊客,有種回到家鄉,過年的氛圍,想要迎接年節的假期,歡樂宜蘭年邀請您來同歡。

利澤簡走尪

利澤簡走尪

月份 : 2月
地點 : 五結鄉

利簡澤曾是蘭陽溪的交通要道,連接蘇澳、宜蘭、艋舺等地,是當時重要的貨物集散區。有一年,利簡澤當地發生疫情,居民商討後,決定將當地特有的習俗弄尪儀式,擴大舉辦,抬著神明遶境,有著去邪消災、遠離疾病之意,成為當地住民的走尪祭典。

農曆元月十五日,元宵節慶,利簡澤永安宮會邀請境內的大小廟宇的神明,參與遶境活動,壯觀的場面,吸引民眾爭相前往,拍照留影熱鬧不已。

年度的走尪重頭戲,在繞境完後舉行,早年是兩組人馬互相抬轎競賽,在街道上百米狂奔,多組競賽後,贏得最後的冠軍,後來改由抬神轎,來回街上舉辦過火儀式,每踏一次火堆,民眾也會之瘋狂,紛紛鼓掌,氣氛甚為歡喜。

綠色博覽會

綠色博覽會

月份 : 3~5月
地點 : 武荖坑風景區或冬山河生態綠舟

愛護環境,人人有責,從行動中實踐環保,提倡生態環保、綠色能源、環境教育等理念,強調人與土地間的關係,透過永續經營、永續生活的想法,為地球盡一份心力。

宜蘭是綠色生活的領航者,透過每年舉辦綠色博覽會,將臺灣的綠色生活概念,傳播出去,從生活、環境、產業等各方面,慢慢改進,有著與土地間共有、共享、共存的想法,讓生活中,都充滿綠色的能量。

乘著綠色方舟,航向嶄新的未來,宜蘭綠色博覽會,帶你理解綠色概念生活,如何落實在生活當中,將綠色的漣漪一層一層的擴散出去,期望全球都生活在綠色的環境中。

二龍競渡

二龍競渡

月份 : 6月
地點 : 礁溪鄉

相傳早年噶瑪蘭平埔族在二龍河沿岸的淇武蘭定居後,與居住在上游的番割田族,每年會定期舉辦划船比賽,採用木板舢或是紅頭渡船,嬉戲遊玩好不熱鬧。然而淇武蘭河沙淤積越發嚴重,比賽地點也往下游遷移,演變成淇武蘭和洲仔尾,兩村間的競賽。

兩百多年來,二龍河的淇武蘭港,與當地居民生活息息相關,然而當地常發生溺水意外,村民以競渡方式,驅逐水中妖怪。每到端午節,精緻的龍船,在河上爭先恐後地往終點前進,現場沒有裁判、計時員,輸贏全由隊員觀眾決定,賽情激烈、神聖又不凡,是全臺最獨特的民俗活動。

宜蘭國際童玩節

宜蘭國際童玩節

月份 : 7~8月
地點 : 冬山河親水公園

炎炎夏日,到底要去哪裡玩呢?走到哪裡都好熱啊,揮之不去的暑氣壟罩而下,消暑最佳利器到底在哪裡呢?那就來宜蘭尋寶吧!

夏天玩水真的很過癮,大朋友小朋友最愛的宜蘭國際童玩節,在每年的夏季舉辦,現場擠滿玩水的人潮,滑水道、戲水池、噴泉等遊樂設施,讓來訪的遊客,玩的不亦樂乎。

放開心境,讓自己當小孩一次,盡情的遊玩,宜蘭童玩節,就是要讓你「童」玩一夏,帶著家人小孩一同玩水,不分大小,不分年紀,大家互相潑水嬉戲,開心不已。

蘇澳冷泉嘉年華

蘇澳冷泉嘉年華

月份 : 7月
地點 : 蘇澳鎮

蘇澳有著世界知名的碳酸氫鈉鈣冷泉,盛夏時分,浸泡在冰涼的泉水中,暑氣瞬間消散。體驗來自從天而降的水珠,與街道旁的民眾一同歡慶,蘇澳冷泉嘉年華,潑水狂歡,街頭大戰,有萬人踩街的盛況。

創意踩街、花車遊行、街頭表演等創意的狂歡活動,讓蘇澳湧入數萬遊客,拿起水球互丟、潑水,各個展現許久沒發揮的身手。

品嘗蘇澳冷泉製作的Q彈羊羹,甜蜜蜜幸福滋味,在口中散發出來,再來口特製的冷泉冰棒,獨特的口感,讓人回味無窮,蘇澳冷泉的神秘力量,你心動了嗎?

宜蘭七夕情人節

宜蘭七夕情人節

月份 : 8月
地點 : 蘭陽節慶館官網公告

牛朗與織女只能在每年農曆七月七日,走上喜鵲搭起的鵲橋,與愛人相會,浪漫且淒美的愛情故事,是流傳千年的傳說,點點而下的雨水,是兩人傾訴相思之苦的淚滴,感動千萬人心。

七夕情人節,與愛人攜手走過象徵愛情的鵲橋,許下一生一世永不分離的信念,宜蘭每年在七夕情人節,創意的情人鵲橋,在夜晚中閃閃發光,情人紛紛前往拍下歷史的一刻,見證忠貞的愛情。

最浪漫的日子,留給最美的情人之夜,宜蘭特別規劃的情人節活動,賦予七夕情人節慶嶄新的風貌,讓傳說的舞台,在宜蘭重現。

頭城搶孤

頭城搶孤

月份 : 8~9月
地點 : 頭城鎮

早年漢人來到宜蘭開疆闢土,經歷天災、戰爭、疾病等磨難,讓往生者無所依歸,在每年農曆七月,居民聯合舉辦普渡儀式,消災解厄、普渡孤魂,並在農曆鬼門關之夜,展開精彩萬分的搶孤儀式。

一年一度的頭城搶孤競賽,在子時開演,參賽者攀爬在塗滿牛油的棚柱上,一步一步地往上攀爬,感受來自團隊互助合作的精神,過程激烈驚險,讓搶孤的參與者,體驗搶救孤魂、普渡野鬼的艱辛歷程。

有著宗教、歷史、文化內涵的頭城搶孤,吸引來自世界各地的遊客參與,現場氣氛熱鬧滾滾,目睹年度盛大的宗教慶典。

不老節

不老節

月份 : 10月
地點 : 宜蘭市或羅東鎮

宜蘭不老節是全國第一個為長者舉辦的活動,打破老人就是活力低、走不動的型態,是銀髮族的活動樂園,讓長者保有人老心不老的心境,展現出熱血活力、精力無限的動感老人。

動動手啊,動動腳啊,扭扭腰啊,轉個圈,長者跟著音樂揮舞手腳,每個人臉上笑口常開,賣力地唱唱跳跳,開心不已。隨著經典老歌的撥放,讓長者彷彿回到青春歲月,回味早年生活的歡樂時光,展現生命的熱情,引吭高歌的長者,唱出心中滿滿的感動。

不老節為銀髮族敞開大門,開啟活力的嶄新世界,營造友善的高齡城市,讓長者互相交流、彼此關照,聊天、唱歌、跳舞等系列活動,開啟全新的生命價值。

二結王公過火(十二月)

二結王公過火

月份 : 12~1月
地點 : 五結鄉

二結王公廟供奉的祀神為「古公三王」,相傳南宋末年,有三位義士抵抗蒙古兵馬,最後壯烈犧牲,鄉民感念三位的忠義,建寺廟宇,尊稱他們為「古公三王」。

每年農曆11月15日,會舉辦二結王公過火儀式,消災解厄、除晦氣、去霉運,是臺灣規模最盛大的「過炭火」民俗活動,已有百年之久,俗諺中有句:「驚王公生,不驚過年」,彰顯出當地住民對於祭典的重視。

在耆老帶領之下,將兩萬餘斤的炭火堆疊成小山,時程一到,工作人員往火堆中灑鹽米,有著去除不潔之意,並在萬眾矚目下,信徒抬著武轎,依序走過火堆,廟裡廟外熱鬧萬分,

民俗的信仰是在地最珍貴的文化,療癒參與者的心靈,「二結王公過火」在2007年,被國家文化總會評選文臺灣10大民俗祭典。

礁溪溫泉季

礁溪溫泉季

月份 : 12月
地點 : 礁溪鄉

喧鬧的車水馬龍,煩悶的工作瑣事,您累了嗎?想不想來一趟身、心、靈都放鬆的旅程呢? 一年一度由宜蘭縣舉辦的礁溪溫泉季就是您最好的選擇,提供健康、休閒、養生之氛圍外,還有樂團、舞團以及街頭藝人的精彩表演,一趟礁溪溫泉之旅,吃、喝、玩、樂,應有盡有。

聲名遠播的「冬戀宜蘭溫泉季」,在2016年更名為「礁溪溫泉季」,將樂舞活動融入活動當中,呈現出熱鬧的節慶氛圍,將礁溪獨特的溫泉,廣為傳播,讓來訪的遊客,認識礁溪、認識宜蘭、認識夢幻的溫泉之鄉。

Top